Aubuchon Hardware

            Well, the last Thursday night race of the season was upon us (even though rain put it off for a day).  This means three things in central Vermont....Summer is about over, school starts very soon and it's time to crown the "King Of The Road" at Thunder Road!  The last points race for the Late Model Division saw four drivers with a statistical chance at claiming the top spot, but realistically it was Dave Pembroke's to lose.  He didn't.  A great night leading up to the final two events of the season - the Labor Day Classic and the world famous Milk Bowl.

The 2010 Street Stock Rookie of the Year Thomas Placey grabbed his first career win,
followed onto the podium by Ken Christman and Alan Maynard

With only four Junkyard Warriors in attendance, track officials decided to have some fun with them.
A 4-wide start (going the wrong way) led to a spin at the start/finish line and two laps run
"normal."  Then the cars were spaced out depending on where they finished....
two laps into the next run the cars had to turn off turn three into the infield and run across to
turn two before proceeding for two more laps.  It was silly and I hope it never happens again.
Brock Parrott was awarded 1st place, followed by Danny Brassard, Jason Woodard and Kevin Wheatley

The Tiger Sporstman Feature was won by Mike Martin, followed by Dylan Payea and
Blair Bessett.  Bessett was DQ'd in Tech and the 3rd place trophy was awarded to Jason Allen

The 100 lap final points race of the 2011 season was won by Vermont's Lieutenant Governor
Phil Scott who held off Cody Blake and Mike "Beetle" Bailey

2010 Champion Nick Sweet presents the trophy to the 2011 "King Of The Road" David Pembroke! driver trophies from this event:

Click here for my full gallery (569 shots) from this event!

Return to Thunder Road 2011                                                                           Go to